Henry Maso Award for Young Cosmetic Scientists

The Award is given at IFSCC Congresses to the best scientific paper submitted to any of the 8 issues of the IFSCC Magazine published in the previous 2 years. The author must normally be under the age of 40. The winner will be awarded a trip to the next IFSCC Congress with the cost of travel, accommodation and registration fees up to, but not exceeding, 5000 Swiss Francs, being paid by the IFSCC.

The applicant must

  • be a member of an IFSCC affiliated Society
  • be no more than 40 years old when the paper was published in the IFSCC Magazine
  • not have submitted a paper for the IFSCC Conference
  • not enter the 2017 Maison G de Navarre Award

The applicant enters the competition by submitting a full scientific paper on cosmetic or cosmetic related disciplines to the IFSCC, indicating that they wish to be considered for the Henry Maso Award.

The paper must be submitted in English accompanied by the details requested on the official Entry Form which is available from your local Society. The paper and form should be sent electronically to the IFSCC Secretary General at 

Applicants must be members of good standing in their Society, which in turn must be current in its Federation subscription. Applicants must submit proof that they are actively employed in a technical capacity in the Cosmetic Industry or related Academia and that they meet the relevant requirements.

Previous winners
The first Henry Maso Award winner (2011) was Ms Theeraya Krisaphong from Thailand for her paper Antimicrobial activity of Garcinia mangostana extract for anti-acne.

Congratulations to Shuting Hu from the Hong Kong Society, winner of the  2013 Henry Maso Award for her paper Activity and mechanism of natural resorcinol type phenolics from the twigs of Cudrina trieuspidata as skin whitening agents. Shuting’s prize was an all expenses paid trip and registration for the IFSCC Congress in Paris, France, that took place from 27-30 October 2014. There she was also presented with her illuminated scroll.

The winner for 2016 was John Jimenez of Bogotá, Colombia. John's winning paper was the Application of Eye-Tracking Methodology for Fragrance Evaluation. He was presented with his illuminated scroll at the IFSCC 29th Congress held in Orlando, Florida (USA) in October 2016. As the 2016 Henry Maso Award winner, his trip to Orlando and registration fees for the Congress was covered by the IFSCC. 

2016 Henry Maso winning paper – John Jimenez.pdf

Henry Maso Award presentation

2011 winner Theeraya Krisdaphong (right) with 2011/12 IFSCC President Krisdaphong Panvipa